Final election results at 6pm on Saturday


9 May 2014

The Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) will announce the final results of South Africa’s general elections at 6pm on Saturday, IEC chairperson Advocate Pansy Tlakula announced on Friday afternoon.

“We’ve received four objections submitted in terms of section 155 of the Electoral Act, and the commission will deal with these before we announce the final results at 6pm [on Saturday] at the Results Operations Centre [in Pretoria],” she said.

The announcement will be broadcast live on SABC2 as well as on various other news channels. Tlakula said they were in the process of finalising the capture of the results in the last few remaining voting districts.

According to Tlakula, the results had already been finalised in three provinces – Mpumalanga, the Northern Cape and North West – while 99.9% of ballots had been counted in Limpopo.

“In the remaining provinces, we are on the verge of finalising the results, with the outstanding results for just over 400 voting districts,” she said. “We are also awaiting the delivery of ballots from eight foreign missions for inclusion in the count for the international voting district.

“So far, we’ve captured and finalised 17.69-million national votes and 17.12-million provincial votes.”

Tlakula said the national voter turn-out so far stood at 73.26%, while for the provinces it was as follows:

  • Eastern Cape: 70.28%
  • Free State: 72.57%
  • Gauteng: 76.57%
  • Kwazulu-Natal: 76.79%
  • Limpopo: 63.31%
  • Mpumalanga: 75.68%
  • North West: 68.76%
  • Northern Cape: 73.82%
  • Western Cape: 74.23%

Of the votes captured and audited so far, 1.30% had been spoilt, which is almost identical to the 2009 election, which recorded 1.31% of spoilt ballots.