Amla bags five-for at Cricket Awards


21 July 2010

Hashim Amla dominated the 2010 South African Cricket Awards in Johannesburg on Tuesday night, picking up five awards – including South African Cricketer of the Year – after being nominated in a record six categories.

Amla, no doubt, would have appreciated some other awards as much as, if not more than, the main one, particularly the Players’ Player of the Year Award. And it was not only the players that showed their appreciation for Amla, but the fans too, as he was named the Cricket South Africa Fans’ Cricketer of the Year.

He was named Test Cricketer of the Year after scoring 923 runs at an average of 65.92, including four centuries, in only nine tests against India, the West Indies and England.

Best individual performance

Amla’s 253 not out against India in Nagpur was recognised as the best individual performance during the past year when he received the KFC “So Good!” Award for his double-century.

The only category in which Amla was nominated that was not won by him was the ODI Cricketer of the Year. AB de Villiers, who had a spectacular season in the 50 overs version of the game, picked up the award for a year that included four centuries, with three of them coming in succession.

Ryan McLaren, who made his international debut at the age of 26, showed up well for the Proteas in one-day internationals especially. For that matter, he also enjoyed a good season in the Indian Premier League. His achievements were rewarded with the Newcomer of the Year Award.

Pro20 award

The Standard Bank International Pro20 Cricket Award went to Charl Langeveldt, who has proved himself to be a remarkably good performer at the death in the shortest form of the game, quite apart from the fact that he is also very useful as a new ball bowler.

Although Herschelle Gibbs’ star faded somewhat on the international front, he starred on the domestic scene and was named the MTN40 Cricketer of the Year. He scored 496 runs, a total bettered by only Colin Ingram and Jacques Rudolph, at the competition’s leading average of 70.85.

Ingram, who lit up domestic cricket, was named the SA Cricketers’ Association Most Valuable Player and won the approval of his fellow players in picking up the Domestic Players’ Player Trophy.

His 600 runs in the MTN40 were 103 more than the second highest total. He was also the leading run scorer in the Standard Bank Pro20 Series as his team, the Warriors, won both competitions in which he was the leading run scorer: the Standard Bank Pro20 Series and the MTN40.

Fastest triple century

Rilee Roussouw of the Eagles was named the SuperSport Series Cricketer of the Year after a strong season. He totalled 1 189 runs at an average of 66.05. His efforts were highlighted by a sensational 319 off only 291 balls against the Titans. It was the fastest triple century in the history of South African cricket and included 47 fours and eight sixes.

Pumelela Matshikwe of the Lions was named the MTN Domestic Newcomer of the Year.

Marais Erasmus, who was named onto the ICC’s prestigious Elite Umpiring Panel and stood in his first test in January, was named Umpire of the Year.




  • CSA Coach of the Year: Russell Domingo


  • CSA Groundsman of the Year: Louis Kruger


  • CSA Scorers’ Association of the Year: Gauteng


  • CSA Umpire of the Year: Marais Erasmus




  • MTN40 Cricketer of the Year: Herschelle Gibbs


  • Standard Bank Pro20 Cricketer of the Year: Colin Ingram


  • SuperSport Series Cricketer of the Year: Rilee Rossouw


  • CSA Fair Play Award: Chevrolet Knights


  • MTN Domestic Newcomer of the Year: Pumelela Matshikwe


  • SA Cricketers’ Association MVP Award: Colin Ingram


  • Domestic Players’ Player of the Year: Colin Ingram




  • MTN Newcomer of the Year: Ryan McLaren


  • Standard Bank International Pro20 Cricketer of the Year: Charl Langeveldt


  • Standard Bank One-Day International Cricketer of the Year: AB de Villiers


  • CSA Test Cricketer of the Year: Hashim Amla


  • KFC “So Good!” Award: Hashim Amla


  • CSA Fans’ Cricketer of the Year: Hashim Amla
  • SA Players’ Player of the Year: Hashim Amla


  • SA Cricketer of the Year: Hashim Amla


Would you like to use this article in your publication or on your website? See: Using SAinfo material