Ajax’s Serero stars at PSL Awards


31 May 2011

Ajax Cape Town missed out on winning the PSL title on the last day of the season, but the Urban Warriors’ midfielder, Thulani Serero, bagged a whole lot of silverware at the annual PSL Awards dinner on Sunday.

By the time the evening was over, the 21-year-old had walked away with four awards and was considerably richer.

It was quite a haul for Serero who was named Footballer of the Year, the Absa Premiership Player of the Year, the Players’ Player of the Year, and the Red Hot Young Player of the Season.

One regret

However, Serero admitted he had one regret and that was the one award that he missed out on, that of PSL champion.

“Every player wants to be a league winner,” he said in an interview with the PSL. “That’s what we play for. I am very happy for these awards but the league title is what I really wanted and what the club wanted.

“I am honored though, and I do cherish this. I did not expect to win all of this, but, yes, it’s a great feeling.”

The future

Looking ahead to his future with Ajax Cape Town’s big brother club, Ajax Amsterdam, with whom he signed a contract after the season, Serero said: “I hope I can continue like this next season and win things for the club and not just myself.

“It’s a big move, a big step up and I am excited and nervous. I’ll be away from home, but I will be playing for Ajax Amsterdam and this is a dream come true for me.

Touching on what made him so successful this past season, Serero said: “Hard work is what you need to succeed. I was focused and I have to thank the club, the players, and the fans for being supportive. I will miss that, but I am looking forward to the new challenge.”

Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament

Orlando Pirates’ midfielder Andile Jali, who was edged out by Serero in a number of categories, walked away with the Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament.

He told the PSL: “I am pleased with this award, but what makes me happy is that we won three trophies this season for the club. That is what we wanted and that is our history. Winning individual awards is good, but winning with the club is great.”

Kaizer Chiefs’ striker Knowledge Musona was named the Telkom Knockout Cup Player of the Tournament. He also picked up the award for the season’s top goal scorer.

Coach of the Year

Not surprisingly, given the success of his side – winning the MTN 8, PSL, and Nedbank Cup titles – Orlando Pirates’ Ruud Krol was named Coach of the Season.

The Chairman’s Award went the way of Orlando Pirates’ captain Lucky Lekgwathi, who has played over 300 games for the Buccaneers and is the only member of the current team who was part of the 2002/03 PSL winning side.


PSL Footballer of the Year
Thulani Serero (Ajax) – R150 000

Absa Premiership Player of the Season
Thulani Serero (Ajax)- R150 000

Players’ Player of the Season
Thulani Serero (Ajax)- R150 000

Red Hot Young Player: Serero – R50 000
Thulani Serero (Ajax)- R50 000

Coach of the Season
Ruud Krol (Pirates) – R75 000

Goal of the season
Tlou Segolela (Pirates) – R50 000

Goalkeeper of the Season
Patrick Tignyemb (Celtic) – R50 000

Top Goal Scorer
Knowledge Musona (Chiefs) – R25 000

Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament
Knowledge Musona (Chiefs) – R200 000

MTN8 Player of the Tournament
Siyabonga Nomvethe (Swallows) – R150 000

Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament
Andile Jali (Pirates) – R100 000

Nedbank Cup Young Player of the Tournament
Tlou Segolela (Pirates) – R25 000

Chairman’s Award
Lucky Lekgwathi (Pirates) – R100 000

Referee of the Season
Daniel Bennett – R50 000

Assistant Referee of the Season
Zakhele Siwela – R40 000

Would you like to use this article in your publication or on your website? See: Using SAinfo material