Amla stars at SA Cricket Awards


    10 September 2013

    Hashim Amla’s excellence and popularity was recognized at the Cricket South Africa (CSA) awards in Johannesburg on Monday night.

    He was named the CSA Cricketer of the Year, the Sunfoil Test Cricketer of the Year, SA Fan’s Player of the Year and claimed the KFC “So Good” award for his unbeaten 311 against England last year.

    The wristy right-handed batsman joins Jacques Kallis and Makhaya Ntini as the only two-time winners of the Cricketer of the Year award.

    ‘Another amazing year’

    CSA CEO Haroon Lorgat was full of praise for Amla. “This has been another amazing year for our top players,” he said.

    “It is not easy to keep finding special words to speak about Hashim. He has set South Africa record test scores against both England and Australia, and he is the first player to score a test treble-century for our country.

    “As if that is not remarkable enough, he is also the number one rated player on the ICC rankings for test and ODI batsmen,” Lorgat said.

    ‘The true spirit of cricket’

    “The greatest quality he brings to the game is his attitude and humility, which aptly displays the true spirit of cricket. This transcends all his international statistics and we are indeed very lucky to have such a wonderful role model for our children to emulate.”

    Proteas ODI captain AB de Villiers picked up the Momentum ODI Cricketer of the Year and the SA Players’ Player of the Year awards, while Dale Steyn was named the KFC T20 International Cricketer of the Year. Kyle Abbott, who captured 7 for 29 in his very first test innings against Pakistan in February, received the SA Newcomer of the Year award.

    Marizanne Kapp’s fine all-round performances were recognised when she was named the Momentum Women’s Cricketer of the Year.

    Coach of the Year

    Geoffrey Toyana, the first black coach in South African domestic cricket, received the Coach of the Year award after a fine season with the Lions.

    Johann Louw of the Cape Cobras, who made his first class debut in the 2000/01 season, was named the Sunfoil Series Cricketer of the Season, while big-hitting Richard Levi, his Cobras team-mate, won the Momentum One-Day Cup Cricketer of the Year. Lions wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Kock picked up the Ram Slammer of the Season for his performances in T20 cricket.

    Kyle Abbott added a domestic award to his national award by being named the Domestic Player’s Player of the Year, while the Lions walked away with the CSA Fair Play award.

    The Titans’ Roelof van der Merwe was named the South African Cricketers’ Association’s Most Valuable Player and the Warriors’ Ayabulela Gqamane was recognised as the Domestic Newcomer of the Year.

    SAinfo reporter