Parliament elects Zuma President of South Africa


22 May 2014

Jacob Zuma was elected President of South Africa by Members of Parliament (MPs) in the National Assembly in Cape Town on Wednesday.

Zuma’s nomination came before an objection by the Democratic Alliance, which was dismissed by Chief Justice Mogoeng Mogoeng, who ruled that “all present here are eligible for election”. As there was no other nomination, Zuma was elected unopposed.

“In terms of Item 6 of part A, Schedule A of the Constitution, I declare the honourable Jacob Zuma duly elected President of the Republic of South Africa,” Mogoeng announced, congratulating the President-elect while the house broke into cheers and ululations.

With his election, Zuma ceased to be a member of the National Assembly. The African National Congress (ANC) will later fill his position in the Assembly by choosing the next person on its election list.

Zuma will take the oath of office “to be faithful to the Republic of South Africa” and “to obey, observe and maintain the constitution and all other laws” at the Nelson Mandela Amphitheatre at the Union Buildings in Pretoria on Saturday.

The event is expected to draw thousands of people, including around 40 current and former heads of state.

Ordinary South Africans will be transported from across the country to witness the event, while those unable to attend will be able to follow proceedings on television and radio, or at 47 public viewing areas in the provinces.