Africa’s very own Walk of Fame


10 July 2015

An Afri-Global Walk of Stars, similar to the Hollywood Walk of Fame, was planned along Cradock Avenue, in the northern Johannesburg suburb of Rosebank, the African Global Heritage Foundation (AGHF) said.

It will feature five-pointed stars inlaid into the pavement, which will be inscribed with names of people who have distinguished themselves and have left their mark globally and locally.

“The walk is set to be a huge resource for Rosebank,” said Phineas Tichana, the Walk of Stars executive producer, “and a mega marketing tool for Johannesburg to promote tangible heritage as an open air museum, and enhance the business, cultural, and civic well-being of South African and African achievement.”

Mock unveiling

The walk has been dedicated to Nelson Mandela, as well as every other South African and African who has made an outstanding impact on the world.

A mock unveiling will coincide with Nelson Mandela International Day on 18 July. “A formal inaugural induction will then be held in September to induct the first South African and African stars,” reported the Rosebank Killarney Gazette.


Stars will be given to people who have excelled in radio, music, sport, film, television and performing arts, as well as to those who have rendered great service to their fellow citizens.

Other categories will make provision for contributions from corporates, humanitarian organisations, and special honourees.

The general public can nominate people, and the selection committee will make the final decision.

The African Walk of Stars

The South African class of inaugural inductees:

  • Recording: Ladysmith Black Mambazo, Hugh Masekela, Oscar Mdlongwa aka Oskido, Jonathan Butler, Lerato Molapo aka Lira, Chicco Twala, Johnny Clegg
  • Theatre/live performance: Joe Mafela, Sello Maake KaNcube
  • Sport: Lucas Radebe, Francois Pienaar, AB de Villiers, Gary Player, Ali Bacher, Caster Semenya
  • Meritorious: Imtiaz Sooliman, Andrew Mlangeni, Ahmed Kathrada, George Bizos, Desmond Tutu, Patrice Motsepe
  • Television: Rolene Strauss, Connie Ferguson, Siyabonga Twala, Bonang Matheba
  • Film: Leon Schuster, Terry Pheto

The African class of inaugural Inductees

  • Recording: Oliver Mtukudzi, Sade Aku, Salif Keita
  • Film: Lupita Nyong’o, Genevieve Nnaji
  • Television: Alek Wek
  • Sport: Didier Drogba

Frontline member-states champions:

  • Kenneth Kaunda
  • Robert Mugabe
  • Joaquim Chissano
  • Quett Masire
  • Sam Nujoma
  • Samora Machel
  • Julius Nyerere
  • Kamuzu Banda

Hollywood Walk of Fame

EM Stuart, the volunteer president of the Hollywood Chamber of Commerce, came up with the idea of a Walk of Fame in 1953. He wanted to “maintain the glory of a community whose name means glamour and excitement in the four corners of the world”.

Eight years later, in 1960, construction of the famed walk began.

“An average of two stars are added to the walk on a monthly basis,” reads the Walk of Fame site. “The walk is a tribute to all of those who worked so hard to develop the concept and to maintain this world-class tourist attraction.”

Source: Rosebank Killarney Gazette