South Africa wins gold at the Swimming World Cup


17 August 2015

South African swimmer Chad le Clos had a tally of four gold medals at the end of the final day of the second leg of the Fina/airweave Swimming World Cup series yesterday.

The second leg of the Federation Internationale de Natation (Fina) World Cup series took place in Paris, France, on 15 and 16 August.

This weekend, Le Clos won the 200m backstroke as well as the 50m, 100m, and 200m butterfly races. Cameron van der Burgh also struck gold, winning the 100m breaststroke while Myles Brown scooped the silver medal in the 200m freestyle.

The 23-year-old Le Clos posted a time of 51.04 to win the 100m butterfly. American swimmer Tom Shields came in second at 51.27 with compatriot Tim Phillips getting the bronze in 52.10.

In the 200m backstroke, Le Clos made it in 1:57.81, while Keita Sunama of Japan came in second place in 1:58.57 and Australia’s Ashley Delaney placed third in 1:59.24.

For the 200m butterfly, Le Clos posted a time of 1:54.18, only three seconds quicker than second place Jordan Coelho of France with 1:57.58. Australia’s David Morgan got the bronze with 1:58.93.

In the 50m butterfly, Le Clos clocked a time of 23.23. American Timothy Philips took silver in 23.42 and Jayden Hadler of Australia finished third with 23.66.

Meanwhile, Van der Burgh won with a time of 58.97. American Nic Fink came in at a close second with 1:00.00 and fellow American Cody Miller got the third spot with 1:00.21.

Australia’s Daniel Smith clocked 1:46.50, beating Brown who came in at 1:47.55. France’s Jeremy Stravius came in third with 1:48.11.

Fina Swimming World Cup

The Fina Swimming World Cup started in 1979 with swimmers participating in a series of two-day events at various locations.

“The circuit is structured in clusters – Middle East, Europe and Asia – and distributes a total of prize money reaching $2-million (R25.75-million today),” Fina explains.

Moscow, Russia hosted the first leg of the swimming world cup, on 11 and 12 August, while Hong Kong is the venue for the third leg, on 25 and 26 September.

Source: Sport24